Naughty Composer Jonathan Leshnoff

This weekend's concerts of the Columbus Symphony include Tchaikovsky's 6th Symphony, "Pathetique", the unusual Beethoven Leonora No. 2, and Jonathan Leshnoff's Double Concerto for violin and viola, with our Concertmaster, Charles Wetherbee on violin and Roberto Diaz, viola.

Jonathan was there for the rehearsal today, and he is the nicest composer you could ever meet. I also love his music. So when I complain about the following passage, it's only lightly.

The passage in the photo below is nearly impossible to play well, since the tempo is so fast and the notes so constant as to prevent breathing. Luckily the two clarinet parts are identical in several measures, and as you can see from the following photo, we will alternate playing parts of the long sixteenth passages.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

2 comments for “Naughty Composer Jonathan Leshnoff

  1. April 16, 2010 at

    My brain hurts! Clearly he has it in for clarinetists,

    • April 16, 2010 at

      Lol. It is a ogre of a passage!

Comments are closed.